top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily Cunningham

Tryon Street: The "New Normal"

Well... if you’re been following along, you’ve probably noticed it’s been a hot second since I’ve posted any updates, and I’m sure you can guess why. Just like many of you, COVID-19 has flipped my world upside down and sent it headed into new uncharted waters. As a senior whose final semester was cut short and one who may never get to walk across the stage, I’ve struggled to come to terms with the reality of the situation. But more importantly, my heart goes out to everyone whose life has been permanently altered because of this virus, and I am so very grateful to all the heroes working on the frontlines to keep everyone safe.


For the past three weeks now, North Carolina has been under a statewide Stay at Home Order, so I’ve yet to visit the Tryon Street house. My parents, however, live just five minutes from the house, so they have made a few trips and kept me up-to-date.


When I left the house right before spring break (3/7-3/14), nearly all demo work had been completed. All the drywall had been taken down, the brick was almost entirely removed, and the bathrooms had been gutted as well. This put us in a good place to meet with our architect, David Cates, who drafted the current floor plans of the house and would help us develop the final plans. Here’s a look at the official original floor plans and elevations.



And here’s the new, near-final floor plans (first floor only).


Now that COVID-19 has thrown a bit of a wrench in some of our plans, I’m not exactly sure how this project will pan out. For the time being, we’ll be shifting our focus to draft up some schemes for different rooms in the house. Since I can’t visit my mom to sit down in person and go through ideas and inspo, we’ll be talking through these plans via Zoom... wish us luck!


Stay tuned for more updates as we learn to navigate the “new normal” while flipping a house.


Take care of yourself and look out for others. ❤️

74 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page